IMG 20180804 0853086The MLA Board of Directors consists of MLA members in good standing, 18 years of age or older, who have been duly nominated and elected by the membership of the Association at an Annual General Meeting.  The term of service for a Director is two years.  There is no limit to the number of terms that a Director may serve.  A minimum of five and a maximum of nine Directors are permitted under the Articles of the Association.

The Directors appoint from their number the Officers of the Association to manage the day-to-day affairs of the MLA as directed by the Board.  The Officers of the Association form the Executive Committee of the MLA and are: the President; the Vice-President; the Secretary; and the Treasurer.


MLA Director - job description

Nomination and Election Procedures

Rules of Conduct - Board meetings


MLA Board of Directors for 2019-2020


Rob Bell


Andre Langlois

Vice-President and Secretary

Anne Gourlay-Langlois


Doreen Donald

Environment Committee Chair

Dave Duncan

Boating and Recreation Committee Chair

Richard Teahen

Roads Committee Chair

Henk de Jong

Communications Committee Chair

Ross Button

Municipal Relations Committee Chair


Former Directors and Officers

The MLA By-law does not provide for "emeritus" status for past members of the Board of Directors.   However, the Board feels that it is most appropriate to recognize the time, effort, and overall dedication on the part of "those that came before us".  Accordingly, please see below for our honour roll of past Presidents and Directors since MLA incorporation in 2002.


Past Presidents

Vern Runnels

Frank Mills

Guy Charron

Peter Elliott


Past Directors

Melissa Dakers

Carolyn Bredin

Stewart Robertson

Jim Tye

Joanna Luciano

Dave Hands

David du Feu

Bryan Edwards

Ed Carew

Jo Ellen Beattie

John Coburn

John Miller

Lorna Drummond

Patricia Drennan

Charlie White

Chris Winter

Jim Jenkins

Kim Anderson

Guy Charron

Margaret McEwen

Rick Kwissa

Gary Patterson

Donna Nesbitt


Go to top